top of page






What started out as a late night, gummy fueled experiment with 6/8 drum programs and sequencers, morphed into this wild 'space-prog-rock' instrumental trip. I'm a big science & space buff and when I was recording the early demos, it reminded me of an episode of 'How The Universe Works' that discussed black hole binaries and the Final Parsec Problem Theory.. that's how the track got its name

Music by Fisher, Brand, Eason & Cordalis

Produced by M. Fisher & P. Cordalis at Green Room Studios, Abbotsford BC

​Mastered by Greg Mindorff at Suite Sound Labs (Vancouver, BC)

Cover Art by Michelle Duff at Michelle Duff Studios, Powell River BC

Animal Souls is a multi-genre indie music project based in Abbotsford, BC. The group is headed by bassist/producer Michael Fisher and features some of the best players in the Fraser Valley.

Originally from Burlington, Ontario Michael has called British Columbia home since 1983 and over the years he has played in many cover & original bands, managed and promoted artists and provided live sound services at local clubs and festivals.

When the Covid pandemic hit and Michael was 'retired' from a 27 year career at Live Nation, he called on some of his musical mates to help him record a 10-track album 'Wisdom of Crowds' which was released in August 2021. The album was a mix of old songs re-imagined from a late 80's stash of 4-track demos along with some newly written songs.

Animal Souls have since released 7 singles; 'Lessons of Love' (Jan 2022), 'Soul Dance Redux' (May 2022), 'Travelin' Bug' (Jul 2022), 'Midnight Sky (feat. Annika Catharina)' (Sep 2022), 'Home Sweet Home (Dec 2022), 'Tell Me Why' (Feb 2023) and 'On My Way (feat. Alison Cowie)' (Apr 2023). Next up is a space-prog-rocker 'Final Parsec Problem Theory', out on Friday, June 30!

Music, Videos, Socials

Check out more videos by Animal Souls on YouTube

  • Spotify
  • Apple Music
  • Bandcamp
  • Soundcloud
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Michael Fisher 604-832-6227 |

Press, Awards & News

I was very thrilled that Animal Souls was nominated for the 2022 Radio WIGWAM Awards in the Best International Band category! We didn't win, or place, or show, but we're exteremely proud that we made it that far considering the thousands of artists that were considered.

'Midnight Sky'
#1 - 'KB Radio Canada' Weekly Top 25 (Nov 23)
#1 - 'Prospect Radio' Top 20 Countdown (Sep 10)


'Lessons of Love'
#19 - 'Cookie & Lewie Show' Top 20 of 2022
#22 - 'Museboat Live' Top 25 of 2022
#28 - 'KB Radio Canada' Top 50 of 2022

'Travelin' Bug'
#45 - 'KB Radio Canada' Top 50 of 2022


Wtach my interview with the wonderful Barbara & DJ Grant over at Galaxy 107FM in New Zealand.. this was a blast!

Read my interview with Jay Pillai at Lazie Indie Magazine in the November, 2021 issue.

Read my interview with TJ Clark at Museboat Live Radio.

Read a review of 'Lessons of Love' and my interview with 'The Sounds Won't Stop'.

Tidbits & News...

  • 'Tell Me Why', Animal Souls' sixth single release comes out Friday, February 17, 2023

  • Animal Souls are currently working on a new track 'On My Way' , a collaboration with UK vocalist Alison Cowie

  • I also plays bass in the alternative rock band 3rd Deck, also based in Abbotsford, BC

  • And... I host a weekly online radio show 'The FishMix' on

The Players

Animals Souls wouldn't be possible without the amazing talents and contributions of my musical mates in the Fraser Valley & abroad..


Preston Sawyer


Chris Murray Driver

Adam Black (drums)

Alison Cowie, UK (vocals)
Allan McDonagh (electric guitar)
Andy Shearer, UK (dobro)
Annika Catharina (vocals)
Chris Murray Driver (drums, percussion)
Corey 'McFly' McPherson (drums)
Cuyler Biller (electric guitar)
Dan Cripps (drums)
Gary Baker (vocals)
Greg Schmidt (electric guitar)
Hayley Chase (vocals)
Jackie Lee (vocals)
James Kelly (electric guitar)
Jennie Bice (fiddle)
Jerry Brown (vocals)
John Fultz (keys)
Lana Roberts (keys)
Les Hatklin (flute)
Mara Hatklin (vocals)
Michael Fisher (bass, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, keys, vocals)
Oke Chornick (drums, vocals)
Pete Cordalis (keys)
Preston Sawyer (electric guitar, classical guitar, guitar synth, mandolin, vocals)
Rick Speke (vocals)
Scott Boyes (vocals)
Scott Campbell (electric guitar)
Scott Hagon (drums)
Sharon LeMond (vocals)

Steve Brand (electric guitar)
Tim Ellephones (drums, djembe)
Vikki Evans (vocals) 

bottom of page